The ESOP Association Announces 2010 Silver ESOP Award Winners

by The ESOP Association | Apr 12, 2010

April 12, 2010 (Washington, DC) – The ESOP Association has presented 22 corporate members of the Association with a Silver ESOP Award to recognize their work in sustaining their ESOP (employee stock ownership plan) for 25 years or more.  This year, the Silver ESOP Awards are being presented to companies that will be celebrating 25 years or more as an ESOP company in 2010.

This is the third year the Silver ESOP Awards have been presented by the Association.  
In 2008, 130 corporate members were presented with the first annual Silver ESOP Awards and in 2009, 12 companies were honored.  To be named a Silver ESOP Award winner, a company must be a member of The ESOP Association and have an ESOP in place for 25 years or more. 

“It is my pleasure to present these companies with the 2010 Silver ESOP Award for excellence in sustaining their ESOP for 25 years.  Congratulations to all,” said J. Michael Keeling, president of The ESOP Association.  “As these Silver ESOP Award winners have clearly shown, sharing wealth with employee owners creates greater economic prosperity and strengthens our free enterprise system.  This is the direction we need to move to turn our economy around.”

The list of 2010 Silver ESOP Award Winners:

Alterman, Inc., San Antonio, TX
Border States Electric Supply, Fargo, ND
Central Pennsylvania College
Summerdale, PA 
Cummins-Wagner Company, Inc., Annapolis Junction, MD
Ecker Enterprises, Inc., Rosemont, IL
Employee Benefit Management Corp., Dublin, OH
Evapco, Inc., Westminster, MD
GBS Lumber, Inc., Mauldin, SC
Great Lakes Financial Resources, Inc., Matteson, IL
John Henry Foster Company
Saint Louis, MO 
Kinney Drugs, Inc., Gouverneur, NY
Lanford Brothers Company, Inc.
Roanoke, VA 
LSA Associates, Inc., Irvine, CA
McKay Nursery Company, Waterloo, WI
Modern Group Ltd., Bristol, PA
Nasco Industries, Inc., Washington, IN
New River Electrical Corporation, Cloverdale, VA
Robert W. Chapman & Co., Charlotte, NC
Shorr Packaging Corp., Aurora, IL
The Chilcote Company, Cleveland, OH
Thomson-Shore, Inc., Dexter, MI
Trinidad Benham Corp., Denver, CO

All 2010 Silver ESOP Award winners will be honored at The ESOP Association’s Annual Conference in May and highlighted at the 19th Annual Awards Banquet held on the evening of May 11th.

The ESOP Association is the national trade association for companies with employee stock ownership plans (ESOPs) and the leading voice in America for employee ownership.  The core cause of The ESOP Association is the belief that employee ownership will improve American competitiveness, increase productivity through greater employee participation, and strengthen our free enterprise economy.  For more information please visit,www.esopassociation.org.